Showering with Frogs

Yesterday, I worked over at the barn for a few hours (gratuitous barn picture below…)

then I hauled things to storage…

THEN I had to wind my way through Wal Marts, without the list that I so tediously made up the night before…

I am not to good with making lists to begin with and then trying to remember them? Well, lets just say it falls in the “fail” category for me.

After shoveling unripe fertilizer, loading and unloading two trucks loads worth of boxes for transport into the storage, I was more than a little bit grungy. Dirt, dust and black boogeys were my first clue that I needed a shower. The dust in at the barn is a real powdery fine stuff, almost like talcum ~ it is very dry out here right now ~ and it sticks to everything, especially sweat.

Yes, I know… nasty stuff. Pity anyone that ran into me in the WalMarts!!! :)

One of the last things I did last night was bring in the plants that summer outdoors ~ weatherpersons said it would be down in the 30s’ over night, and I did not want them to begin to go dormant ~

Per usual, I haul them in and set them in the shower to spray them down with bug/spider spray, then give them a good rinsing before hanging them up here in the house.

I didn’t get around to it, so when I went to shower, I just set them on the floor to do when I was finished…

I hop in, and do my thing… I’m nearly done and I reach up to snag the sprayer head ~

Fortunately I looked before I grabbed said sprayer, because sitting on it was this HUGE tree frog.

No big deal… right?

I reach down to shut off the water…

And there is another one, sitting on the faucet handle…

okay, one is one thing, but two? UGH.

I turn around, thinking that I’m going to flip the curtain open, and take them outside ~ happens a lot out here, I’m used to frogs…

And there is a THIRD frog hanging on the curtain.

I go to open the curtain, look up and there is a FOURTH sitting on the shower curtain rod…

By now, I am feeling queasy, and wondering what is going to happen…scenes from Alfred Hitchcock movies begin to play through my head, and I swear I can feel things squishing under my bare feet…

Go to step out of the shower, and frogs five and six are waiting for me on the rug…

I finally put three and three together, and realize that they must be coming from the plants ~ hopping (no pun intended) gingerly out of the shower I reach for my bathrobe…

As I am trying to get my wet person into my bathrobe, there is this horrific “KEEE~ROAK” … right at my elbow.

I jumped a foot in the air, hollered for my mom to open the front door while I was walking very fast through the house… cuz when I looked in the pot, there was a whole mess of frogs hanging in the plant ~ they were warming up and beginning to move about.

Modesty forgotten, I rushed all and sundry out the front door.

I most definitely thank the powers that be that it was dark ~ While I’m not sure what was showing, I’m pretty sure it could have been REALLY embarrassing.

~:-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.