Fresh cut grass

This is Bud (aka ~ Bubba)

Bud is an APHA registered horse.

Bud is HUGE.

Bud follows humans around the pasture ~

Bud always comes in to see what you are doing…

Bud eats a lot…

I sometimes call him “Hoover”

Bud learns very fast.

The Landlord of my barn/field has a HUGE lawn to mow. Right now, he is taking only the tops off the grass ~ leaving the lawn taller to endure the heat better.

One day, I had Bud out on the grass just after it had been cut. The damp clippings had him literally drooling ~ it was disgusting ~ but since then, he craves the freshness…

heh… so, knowing this, every time the lawn is mowed, he and the mares are getting some top clippings off the lawn ~ but last night, the whole thing went to a new level.

When I got to the field/barn, Bud was pacing up and down the fence like a wild man. Hollering and whinnying, snorting like he was after a mare in heat ~

I didn’t see anything out of the ordinary, so I went on about my business there, cleaning, shoveling, feeding…

As normal, I tossed a bit of regular cut hay over into the pasture ~

Hua?? Where was Bud?

I whistled ~ no Bud!

Suddenly, I hear a lawn mower…

And within thirty seconds, there was Bud, following the noisy, stinking, grinding, smelly, gas powered lawn mower machine as it goes back and forth along the fence that separates the field from the lawn…up and down the fence they go… back and forth, back and forth…

Seems that he KNOWS what those things do ~ all the landowners that border the field now tell me that Bud will come to their fence when they begin to mow and he waits patiently …

the nut.

~:-)

the landowners along the field do not give him anything ~ but my landlord saves the grass for me to give them… to much of a good thing dontcha know…

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.