it ain’t just at my house…

Been a very long weekend for me. Drove to the BCoNW ~ and then home so that I could work my last week with the theater company.

weird to think that the summer is nearly “over” for me…

Going to be a warm day today, nearly time to close the window ~ the cats are sitting in it, they won’t be to happy about this…

Reminds me ~ One day I was sitting here at the desk and the Old Cat goes alert to something outside the window.

Me? I’m always watching my animals (as you may know already) so I knew there was something out there…

I cross to the window and look out.

Nothing. Absolutely nothing.

I sit back down, and the cat does it AGAIN!!!

I go look, trying to follow where she is looking ~ as cats are wont to do, it truly feels as though she is looking out into empty space.

I kept at it ~ my efforts were soon rewarded. Through the open window I could hear this weird splashing noise…

The woman that lives across the road was filling a small plastic wading pool with a hose. Her children are grown and gone, it seemed sort of odd, and I could not figure out why this would interest the cat.

I stayed by the window to see.

Half a cup of coffee later, across the street, the dog came tearing out of the house at full speed. (He is a Boston Terrier) LITERALLY full speed… He was a little black and white streak.

The streak goes DOWN the steps, across a short bit of yard, lands directly in the wading pool ~ where he proceeded to zoom around the inside perimeter of the pool as fast as his short legs would take him ~ the sides of the pool bowing out he ran, water making a graceful arc up and out the pool…

With the water flying every whicha way, he kept this up until the water was gone from the little blue pool ~ As soon as he realized it was gone, he plopped his butt directly in the center of the pool ~ where, drenched and slobbery, he hollers for his mum for a refill…

She obliges, while he waits on the porch by the front door…

~:-)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.