the need for canaries

It is snowing here again, I am procrastinating going outside … *sigh*

Life is just… SO unfair sometimes! The year I don’t care if it EVER snows, and here we are, getting four to ten inches on a daily basis…

**grumble grumble complain moan**

Today is a busy one with having to shovel and all besides loading up the car… Yes, I shoulda done that yesterday, I didn’t realize it would SNOW… (OH SHUDDUP with the LAUGHING already!!!)

~:-D

Every night, when my room begins to cool down, my cats crawl under the covers with me.

First is usually Little Cat, for she weighs absolutely nothing compared to Old Cat ~ she is a tiny bit of a girl without an ounce of extra weight.

She is not sneaky, she just picks an opening anywheres and shoves her way under… generally it is right about my neck… then she squirrels about until she is comfortable, and settles down to purr and snooze.

Big Cat is less graceful, but also less forceful (read: lazy) ~ she sits and whines in my ear until I wake up enough to lift the covers for her.

sometime around 1 o’clock this morning, both of them decided it was time to tunnel ~ both went down my back, one settled in behind my knees, the other in the small of my back…

Now, I had myself a pity party yesterday afternoon, for I had a very long and arduous day. I won’t bore you with the gory details of said day, but the party was wonderful…

I had chips, salsa, guacamole, chimichangas, spicy rice and re fried beans, and BEER(s)…

All was right with the world for me after that…

Well, about two this morning things started to heat up.

Not a big deal at first, nothing major…I tucked the covers tight around my chin so I would be sure to wake up this morning…

Everyone seemed to be enduring the onslaught.

About thirty minutes later, I could feel twitching down my back… The cats began having a dispute about who would leave first…

Then… silence.

Just as I began to wonder if the cats were alive, both of them exited, stage left.

And…

I now TOTALLY get the need for canaries.

Needless to say, we spent the rest of the night with the window open.

~:-)

This entry was posted in Critter Stories, pets, Ramblings.... Bookmark the permalink.